Rule Category:Powers
Rule Name:Characteristics
Type:Standard Power
Target:Self Only
Costs END:Varies
Cost:Varies, depending upon Characteristic purchased
Source: 5th ed. rev.

Characters can purchase Characteristics as Powers, with Advantages, Limitations, and/or in Power Frameworks. For these purposes, treat a Characteristic as a Standard Power, and compute the cost using the regular cost for that Characteristic (see page 32).

Unless noted otherwise, a Characteristic purchased as a Power adds to and works with a character's standard Characteristics, whether it has Power Modifiers or not. For example, suppose a character has 20 STR and buys +40 STR, Reduced Endurance (0 END), Only To Lift Objects. He has 60 STR for purposes of lifting objects, and only pays 2 END to use all 60 STR.

A Characteristic bought as a Power does not cost END unless the Characteristic normally costs END. For example, extra STR bought as a Power costs END at the usual rate of 1 END per 10 points of STR used. But extra INT, EGO, or SPD bought as a Power don't cost END (though the character can apply the Costs Endurance Limitation if he wants; see below).

Purchasing Primary Characteristics as Powers has some implications for the character's Figured Characteristics.

Effect On Figured Characteristics
If a character purchases a Primary Characteristic with an Advantage, the Primary Characteristic affects Figured Characteristics normally. If he buys a Primary Characteristic with a Limitation, the Primary Characteristic also affects the Figured Characteristics normally. However, any Figured Characteristics gained from a Limited Primary Characteristic are automatically subject to the same Limitation(s). If the Limitation does not restrict the Figured Characteristics, then the Limited Primary Characteristic does not add to the Figured Characteristics and may not take the No Figured Characteristics Limitation.
      Examples: The Necromancer has a +35 STR with the Limitation IIF (Magic Ring). The Necromancer only gets the +35 STR, +7 PD, +7 REC, and +18 STUN figured from the STR when he has his ring on. When he loses the ring, he loses the 35 STR and the derived PD, REC, and STUN. If the Necromancer had bought his +35 STR with the Limitation Only To Lift Objects, he would not get the +7 PD, +7 REC, and +18 STUN, since that Limitation does not Limit the Figured Characteristics in any way.

      Lifter wants to buy STR with almost no upper limit, so he purchases 100 STR with the Limitation Increased Endurance Cost (x10 END). Since none of the Figured Characteristics uses END, this doesn't Limit them in any way, so Lifter gets no bonuses to his Figured Characteristics.

      Norse Storm-Hammer-God buys his STR with the -1/4 Limitation Only in Heroic Identity (he's usually a wimpy normal). Since this is a mystical transformation, it affects his Figured Characterisitics. In normal guise his PD, REC, and STUN are also lowered.

A Characteristic bought as a Power as a slot in a Multipower never adds to Figured Characteristics, and must take the No Figured Characteristics Limitation (see below). Character can only buy Characteristics in other Power Frameworks with special permission from the GM; the same rules apply.

Calculating Figured Characteristics
If a character buys a Primary Characteristic as a Power, calculate the Figured Characteristics deriving from that Primary Characteristic from each "part" of the Primary Characteristic separately. For example, suppose a character has 15 STR normally, and buys +45 STR as a Power. From 15 STR he gets (15/2, rounding up) +8 STUN. From +45 STR, he gets (45/2, again rounding up) +23 STUN. Therefore his STR adds +31 to his STUN altogether.

Selling Back
Characters cannot normally sell back the Figured Characteristics gained from Primary Characteristics bought with Limitations. If the GM allows this, the character must apply the Limitation to the points sold back to reduce the points he gains. For example, if a character purchases DEX with a -1 Limitation, any points gained by selling back the character's SPD are subject to the same Limitation - selling back one point of SPD yields 10/(1+1) = 5 points. In any case, characters may only sell back one Figured Charcteristic (see page 39).

"Fractional" SPD (page 38) has no effect when buying SPD as a Power. A character buying SPD as a Power must spend 10 Character Points per +1 SPD, regardless of what his DEX or "fractional SPD" are.

If a character purchases SPD that Costs Endurance, he must pay the END cost every Phase, not just on the extra Phases he gains from the Power. (The same applies to DEX.) Therefore, he can't take Recoveries (other than the standard Post-Segment 12 Recovery) unless he de-activates the extra SPD, since his SPD costs him END every Phase. If he gets Stunned in one of his "extra" Phases (the Phases added by the Limited SPD) before his Phase occurs in the Segment, he still gets to recover from being Stunned when his Phase occurs in that Segment, since the power doesn't deactivate until the end of the Segment.

The GM may alter these rules in the interest of dramatic sense or game balance.


Costs Endurance: If a character buys extra points of a Primary Characteristic that Costs Endurance, he does not have to pay END for the Figured Characteristics derived from it. See above regarding SPD and DEX that Costs Endurance.

No Figured Characteristics (-1/2): Characteristics bought as Powers that would normally add to Figured Characteristics may be bought with this Limitation, in which case they don't increase the Figured Characteristics


Normal Characteristic Maxima: Characteristics purchased as Powers are not affected by Normal Characteristic Maxima doubling requirements (whether Normal Characteristic Maxima are a campaign ground rule or taken as a Disadvantage). For example, a superhero with 20 STR and the Normal Characteristic Maxima Disadvantage who buys +40 STR with the Limitation OIF (Powered Armor Suit) does not pay 53 Character Points ((40x2)/1.5), he pays 27 (40/1.5).

File Attachments: